The Formula Can Craft

Okay, so this one I did without a Pinterest inspiration, which is unusual for me. When my daughter was still using formula, we had what seemed like an endless amount of empty cans around the house. I hated just throwing them all out. My grandmother’s 80th birthday was approaching and it hit me-I could make something for her and give her a gift that would be more meaningful than anything I could buy her. I’m still quite average at the whole “crafting” thing, but it turned out to be quite lovely and I know she appreciated it.

For this one I used a formula can (duh lol), some craft paint, lace, tissue paper, a small metal flower, stamps, construction paper, a musical sheet, printed statements, and a printed, short poem I wrote for the lid. The metal flower is just a little knick-knack I collected over time. It could have been anything.

I painted over the can and the lid and let it dry overnight. I used white, pink, and a few touches of gold. On the top of the can I glued the flower a piece of lace and used tissue paper to put behind my little happy birthday poem.

merngifttop

On one side I used my stamps, which I don’t have a photo of, but I used green lettering to say happy birthday and I love you on one side. I actually hand wrote her name there too with black marker. I used another stamp to print some simple pink flowers beside the lettering.

I cut out a butterfly outline in construction paper to put behind a church hymn which I used for the front of the butterfly. This was actually my favorite part of the gift. It turned out a lot better than I was expecting and was so simple to do.

merngiftsdbfly

The part that actually meant the most is what I put on the inside. I typed up reasons why she is so special and loved. I glued these little blips onto some scrapbook paper to make it look nicer.

merngiftinside

The photos I have taken are recent photos, and I made this about a year and a half ago. It has held up pretty well. The paint could have probably used another coat and of course I see things  I would have done more sharply but I am still pleased with it. I did what I set out to do, which was use one of these empty cans and make a meaningful gift for my grandmother who deserves every happiness in this world. Maybe you won’t try to do the same thing, but hopefully this inspires you to create something meaningful!

Leave a Reply

